Tour de France

The Tour de France is the 21 stage legendary cycling race that stretches across the French countryside. The race began in 1903 and the athletes compete on their bikes on what is widely recognized as one of the most grueling sporting events stretching over 21 day-long segments. Primarily held during the month of July the race route changes each year. However, the essential formatting stays the same with time trials, segments in the Pyrenees and the Alps, and the traditional finish on the Champs-Élysées in Paris, France.

The modern addition of the race covers about 3500 km or 2200 miles and alternates between clockwise and counterclockwise circuits. There are between 20 and 22 teams with nine competing male riders in each of them. Each stage with the lowest finishing time for that day is the leader of the race and wears the coveted yellow jersey for the following day(s).

The race was first organized in 1903 to increase paper sales for the magazine L’Auto; it is currently run by the Amaury Sport Organisation. Held annually since its first edition, except for when it was stopped for the two World Wars.

Comments are closed.