County (United States)

In the United States of America, a county is a geographic subdivision of a U.S. state, usually assigned some governmental authority. The term “county” is used in 48 of the 50 states; Louisiana is divided into parishes and Alaska into boroughs. Parishes and boroughs are called “county-equivalents” by the U.S. federal government, as are certain independent cities which are not parts of counties.

Comments are closed.